Home Page

Subject Matter

We learn the Small Catechism of Dr. Martin Luther. This catechism consists of key portions of the Bible, along with the Apostles' Creed. Each section has a brief explanation written by Dr. Luther. The Catechism is like a mini-Bible that students will carry with them in memory, hopefully for the rest of their lives.

The six chief parts of the Small Catechism are:

  1. The Ten Commandments (in the ordering used by Lutherans and Roman Catholics)
  2. The Apostles' Creed
  3. The Lord's Prayer
  4. The Sacrament of Baptism
  5. The Office of the Keys, and Confession
  6. The Sacrament of the Altar

Confirmation class is the beginning of adult life in the church, when students begin extensive catechesis (instruction) in the doctrine of the holy scriptures. The course of instruction follows the catechism textbook and workbook published by our synod.

Helps for Parents